Date with Cal

This week’s Wednesday date with Calvin (previous dates can be seen here and here) was a bit of a toss-up. When I asked what he wanted to do on our special Mommy-n-me day, he expressed interest in two very different activities.

He was inspired by James’ massive, epic trail run last week and voiced a desire to get better at hiking. (We’d all welcome this!) He pointed at the peaks along the Crater Rim trail and said he wanted to drive as close as possible to one of them and then hike the rest of the way up.

The other thing he wanted to do was go to the Imagination Station, the Lego place James and I visited without the kids on Friday night.

Decision time came, and Cal had made up his mind.

“Tomorrow we will go to the Lego place. And then the next stay home day with you we will go climb that mountain. And I will try my hardest. And if I can’t do it and we get to one of those tops, we can go back down the way we came.”

The Imagination Station is a small nonprofit organization with a storefront right near the Christchurch Cathedral. It’s in an indoor/outdoor gallery of shops and it’s really cool because the Christchurch tram runs right through the center. It took us about 15 minutes to get there and park (NZ$2/hour during the day, or $5 for the whole day). Cal was squirming with excitment in the backseat.

Cal car

When we arrived we were the only ones there. Interestingly, I overheard three of the employees talking amongst themselves about the Friday night event that James and I had attended. In a coincidence that made me smile, I heard one of them say that she had thought the “Strike when the iron’s hot” Lego vignette James and I made together was really cool! And I swear she didn’t recognize me…

Cal on a mountain of Legos, sorting for pieces, our small creations, and a sign in Imagination Station
Cal on a mountain of Legos, sorting for pieces, our small creations, and a sign in Imagination Station

More and more people arrived as we played. Cal built a spaceship and a lawnmower. I made an abstract street scene. Then we worked together on finding the pieces for an old-fashioned race car, which we built collaboratively. I don’t think it would hold up long, but Calvin happily placed a little Lego man in it to leave behind when we left.

On the way out Cal visited a tram that’s not in service and then we grabbed a quick chocolate-sea-salt-and-caramel cookie bar (and I had a coffee).

lego 2

///janel///

One thought on “Date with Cal

Leave a Reply

