First day impressions

IMG_5885
I asked them to show a face that reflected how their first days at school went.

Evelyn: “I thought I had left rug time behind in kindergarten… but every transition we go and sit on the rug. and sometimes we play word games on the rug.”

IMG_5884
Homework, kiwi style. Evelyn has spelling words (this week, adverbs). Charlotte has multiplication and spelling.

Charlotte: “My favorite part of the day was getting to play in the mud over by a tree during recess. We have an hour and twenty minutes for lunch and recess, plus morning tea playtime!”

Evelyn: “I have FRIENDS! And the obstacle course outside is AMAZING. I played on it with my friends, and it was great to have an hour and fifteen minutes for lunch.”

IMG_5883
Charlotte, waiting for her final room assignment.

Charlotte: “The hardest part of my day was letting go of you this morning…”

Evelyn: “The biggest challenge I faced was fighting the urge to call out at people on the playground for cursing.”

Charlotte to Evelyn: “Do you have a starting friend? Like, a person who believe *could* be a friend… I do have a friend–Missy–I knew she’d be my friend.”

Charlotte: “Today felt really fast… we had so many fun things, like drama–I got to be the wolf in Little Red Riding Hood!–and we also have dance, music, library, and gym.”

//janel//

One thought on “First day impressions

Leave a Reply

